Hot Lips Luna oh My My!

We arrived home last night and Jo’s daddy went out to check all the girls while I got Sierra situated for the night.

Over the baby monitor I hear “this goat one of the girls Jazzy or whatever her name is one of them is having babies”.   I make sure Sierra is in a good spot and quiet, grab a towel and head out to the barn.  I arrive as baby 3 had just come. 2 does and a buck! Pretty babies with pretty colors. Luna is tending to them pretty good as she lays down to push again!  oh no we all say. Out pops baby 4!! It’s a girl.

After some time she lay down and began pushing again.  Oh hell I am thinking.  No more.  I can’t tend to a down goat and all these mamas & babies & bottle feed an infant – at least not tonight.  False alarm thank goodness.

It was freezing and we felt that the heat lamps were not doing their job well enough for 4 tiny babies and mama so we scooped up the kids and took them to the well house where Joe’s daddy had made a pallet of wood shavings/sawdust and turned up the space heater.  Not ideal but warmer than the freezing night air.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

We took Jazzy too because without Luna she’d be lost.  She’s not exactly happy about sharing space with 4 crying kids but kept herself busy licking the freezer??

2 thoughts on “Hot Lips Luna oh My My!

    • I am glad you enjoy them! I have a story about a gal named Emily but these goats have been keeping me darn busy! I also was hoping to get my greenhouse done before telling that story 😉

Please! feel free to leave a comment!

