We Are Family

” … all of the people around us they say
Can they be that close
Just let me state for the record
We’re giving love in a family dose …

When Fawn was in labor with Tess, I was amazed that Zeva stayed by her side through the whole thing. When I say by her side I mean she was right there.  She did not wander away after a while, she stayed until the baby arrived and then backed into the shadows to give Fawn & Tess their space.  She was there for Hershey too when she had Owen & Olivia only I put Hershey in a kidding pen for her own safety & comfort, but Zeva was on the other side while she kidded.

Since then Zeva has had Jiggy – a  baby girl who now is as big as her mama!  Mr. Oso puts some bulk in the package – I mean size on them babies – anyway, these girls go everywhere together. They sleep together or very near each other.  We have other mammas & past babies in the herd and they are not like Zeva’s family at all.

I thought maybe being there for her children, was just a Zeva thing, ummmmm no.  The apple does not fall far from the tree.

Yesterday Tess went into labor. Thank god at that time it was sunny and the wind wasn’t blowing to bad yet.  It got very windy & REAL cold yesterday late afternoon.

So Tess is in labor and she is freaking out a little, She’s in pain & begins to hit that panic state of “oh crap, I can’t stop this pain, what do I do!!??” and there is Fawn.  By her side, letting Tess LEAN on her, cradling and comforting her.  AMAZING!  She stayed by her the entire time.  She let Tess lean on her when she was weak in the legs from pushing!  She laid down so that Tess would lay down!  She guided her.  What a mama! What a family.  They were all there.  Right there to love and support Tess in her time of need.

What a touching event to have witnessed.  I am blessed and fortunate that I was allowed to be a part of their family yesterday, as I am every day.

Fawn on standby

Fawn on standby – umm sorry about that dingle-berry there. I didn’t think to flick it off with all that was going on!

Fawn nuzzling Tess during her labor

Fawn nuzzling Tess during her labor

I have video of her labor & delivery.  At one point Tess had her neck stretched over Fawns back resting it there.   Fawn never moved.

I have video of her labor & delivery. At one point Tess had her neck stretched over Fawns back wresting it there. Fawn never moved until Tess did.

until ......

tada!  I’m a boy!

DSC05774

DSC05776

DSC05777

DSC05778

Aunt Hershey, Fawn, Tess and baby boy, G-ma Zeva and Auntie Jiggy

Aunt Hershey, Fawn, Tess and baby boy, G-ma Zeva and Auntie Jiggy

DSC05784

One thought on “We Are Family

Please! feel free to leave a comment!

