New Additions

I have known for years now that I wanted at the very least 1 dairy goat. It just makes sense to me, as much as “Goats Rock” why have a dairy cow?

Over the years I had researched the different breeds available. Of the many  the Nigerian Dwarf seemed to have what I was looking for in a dairy goat.

Small, cost efficient, food to output ratio nearly equal, did I say small? Gentle, friendly, curious, sweet and loving dispositions.

I have a friend that raises Nubians (which would have been my second choice) and I discussed the pros & cons of each with her.

She almost convinced me that little Nigerian teats would be a pain to milk. Indeed, in my researching I had read that because of this they can be a challenge to milk,

BUT not all Nigerians have small teats!

How lucky was this granny to acquire 2 beautiful Nigerian does IN MILK with large teats and a blue-eyed buck – not related to either!  Score!

We are talking 3 finger milkers here!  That’s almost a whole hand (yes my hands are very small) I say always go with you first instinct and with that said,

I am so proud to introduce the beginning of our dairy herd to you …

” drum roll “

Hot Lips “Luna”

She is THE MOST easy-going goat ever – super easy milker and VERY patient

(her “lips” remind me of Margaret on Mash – thus the “Hot Lips”

Jasmine “Jazzy”

Jazz can get a little bitchy on the milk stand but I find if she has enough grain & I work quickly she is fine.

 She even lets down a second time!

Between the two girls I get 1/2 gallon of milk a day!

Blue

He’s just a little goat and was a pickle when he first got here, but has turned out to be real sweet and kind.

Nice and gentle.  He looks rough here due to the fact that he came to us in rut and is covered in buck “cologne” in this photo

Lil Cowboy

This is Jazzy & Blue’s kid.  He will be up for sale soon.

He too is a very gentle  young man and so tiny

 

4 thoughts on “New Additions

  1. We’ll have to agree to disagree on breed ;). She’s like no mini-Nubian I have ever seen but more a-typical mini- alpine. But, C’est la vie, a good goat is a good goat.

  2. Congrats on your new additions. “Luna” would be what is considered a mini-alpine, possibly an F1 (first generation mini-alpine (alpine sire or dam and Nigerian sire or dam), and her offspring, if she were bred to a full Nigerien buck, would be “F2’s”. Generally, the larger breed dairy goat is the dam, and the Nigerian is the sire since it can be difficult for the mini breeds to birth full size crosses, as I am sure you can imagine. Her coloring, I believe, is what is called “Cou Clair (coo clair)”. Here is a very good site that I have passed on to fellow goat people when they are interested in learning more about the mini-crosses =) http://miniaturedairygoats.com/Breed%20standards/minialpine_standard.htm and http://miniaturedairygoats.com/about_mini_goats.htm

    • Actually Luna is Nubian/ Nigerian cross. Her Dam was Nubian/Nigerian & Sire was Nigerian. Her previous owner couldn’t remember the exact %’s but was sure she is over the 50% mark.
      The Nigerian breeds come in the Cou Clair coloring too as you can see here: http://nigeriandwarfcolors.weebly.com/coat-patterns.html
      Either way she is a wonderful goat! I got the best of both breeds and YES one should never breed a large breed buck to a small breed doe. This is why we always bred the Myotonic to the Boer and never ever the reverse! Thanks for the Congrats!

Please! feel free to leave a comment!

