that’s so Martha

If you know any one thing about me it should be that I LOVE FLOWERS and I LOVE TO GARDEN.  We have worked tirelessly on this house, yard and everything in-between since moving here.  Some days it seems that we have only made a small dent.  Other days I can stand back and at least be satisfied with the dent made instead of knowing more must be done to reach even a smidgen of satisfaction.

Last week my daughter and I were out in the garden area & I was showing her things I have done and explaining what more was left to do. The project I had worked on I was pretty proud of although it was not complete .  Much to my surprise she said “that’s so Martha Stewart”  I was almost offended until she followed with “I want one”. Whew I thought!  I am doing something right.

It isn’t complete yet, but I will share with you what I’ve got so far.  Here is looking at the front of the greenhouse. Barrels of potatoes there in blue and the butterfly/herb garden is in very slow process behind us.

excuse my mess.  Everything is under construction here at the farm so nothing is very pretty yet … but it is pretty cool …  my idea was to have a shaded entrance to the greenhouse (all over in the tall weeds back there still not put up) while providing a place to grow my green beans & cherry tomatoes.

the first part of my construction consisted of T-Posts (recycled) with hog wire (recycled) ran between them to support the bean rows I had planted until I could talk Joe’s daddy (my husband) into getting the materials needed for the entrance I had in mind.  I just finished running a second piece of hog wire along the top half today as the runners were over the top of the first piece. This piece will be permanent as I was able to nail it to the actual frame of the walk way instead of T-Posts.  Lena was a big help to me today getting this done.  She handed me the fencing nails as I needed them 🙂 We used landscape timbers for the 4 corner posts & 14 ft 2×4’s for the top rails.  I want to get 2 more for the very front & back but for now the 3 I have in place are doing the job they were intended to do.  At the outer underneath edge of each 2×4 my husband drilled a pilot hole and we screwed LARGE eye hooks into each. So we screwed in 6 eye hooks.  One each to support each cherry tomato plant.  Didn’t know they climbed? Well they do!  I used baling twine from the goats hay to run supports for my ‘maters (recycled & free!!) well free the second time anyway

pretty cool huh?

When I am all done I intend to have 5 total 2×4’s running the top with hog wire between each for support of foliage growth & shade cover.  I want to put lattice up the front corner posts and along the top rail.  Each black mineral tub  (recycled, thanks dad) up front of the entrance has a geranium each as well as a flowering vine planted to the back. (see picture #1)  The lattice & vines will add color to the entrance of the greenhouse.  I also planted 4 cloves of garlic around each tomato plant and arugula around each tub. pshhh that’s so Martha?  huh that’s so ME!

2 thoughts on “that’s so Martha

  1. Totally cool & fabulous Martha! Are the planted garlic cloves to keep deer and pests away? Is that cute little house on stilts for Lena or is it a deer stand? Love what you’ve done so far Michelle…oops, I meant Martha! :0)

    • no I planted some of the garlic there just to save space. Between the dogs & the cat I don’t have to many problems with deer or other varmints. Yes that is Lena’s playhouse in the background that papa (Joe’s daddy) got her for her birthday. Thanks!!

Please! feel free to leave a comment!

