a Hearty meal …

With fall comes good hearty food.  I LOVE fall! Ham & Beans sounded just right for dinner last night and of course you gotta have some Cornbread to make this meal complete but I always have problems with Cornbread!  It NEVER turns out in taste or texture the way I want it to so I did some looking & found a recipe & modified it a bit. It actually turned out GREAT.

Here is what I did:

1 c. Buttermilk ~ 1/4 c. Butter melted ~ 1 Egg ~ 1 1/4 c. Cornmeal ~ 1 c. Flour ~ 1/2 c. Sugar ~ 3 t. Baking Powder ~ 1/2 t. Salt ~ 1/2 . Soda

I mixed all the dry ingredients together while melting the Butter in a bowl on LOW heat.  When nearly melted I removed from the burner and swirled to melt the rest of the Butter thus also cooling down my old aluminum bowl from Seminole OK that my Granny gave me 🙂  I added the Egg & Buttermilk to the Butter and mixed it.  Added the dry ingredients to that and mixed till just mixed.  Poured it into a stoneware baking pan and baked it @ 400 for 20 mins or till that toothpick comes out clean.  Cooled a few and dumped it onto a serving tray.

5 thoughts on “a Hearty meal …

  1. I LOVE soup beans! I’m glad I’m not the only one that has to have them with corn bread.

    Here’s a great cornbread recipe that takes very little effort – buy a box of Jiffy cornbread mix, follow the directions, but add an entire can of creamed corn. Best cornbread ever!

Please! feel free to leave a comment!

